The Candy Book Tag

hello  lovely people!

Apple | Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Image result for the fault in our stars

Sorry to all the peeps out here who loved this book, but I did.not. I thought it was super depressing, made me question why people get given such sh!tty hands…and I really don’t like books like that. I get enough of that out of real life thank-you!

Milk Chocolate | This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely everyone.

illuminae

This book is freakin a-mazing!!! I was really scared of reading it because of the format, I thought it would be really difficult to read. But it really wasn’t, and this book really, really gets your heart pumping!!!

Black Jellybeans | Why do these exist?

Image result for mills and boon

Possibly an unpopular opinion, but I really dislike books where there is a cover model…It is the best way for me to be turned off from picking up a book. In saying that, some books with cover models aren’t too bad. It’s more the Mills & Boon-ish types of covers that I dislike, where there is a blonde haired girl with blue eyes, looking off into the distance.

Chocolate Kisses | Aww this novel had the best romance.

Image result for pride and prejudice

acomaf

I really needed to add both of these books into this category. Pride and Prejudice was a definite, because it is a slow burn, classic dislike turned to love kind of story. And ACOMAF needed to be added because, OMG how could you not include Rhys and Feyre?!?!

Gummy Spiders| Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Honestly, I have never read a terribly scary book. But even thinking about possibly reading ‘It’ gives me the heebie jeebies. I was going to put a picture up, but decided against it because I freakin hate clowns.

Jumbo Lollipop | This took your forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

Image result for the hobbit book

This book doesn’t even have a lot of pages, but it took me about a month to read. And that is a long time, especially when I can generally read a book in 2-3 days. I just find Tolkien’s writing hard to follow, always have and probably always will.

Cotton Candy | Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do).

Image result for the wizard of oz book

This one will forever be a favourite. When I was little I was absolutely OBSESSED with the Wizard of Oz, and used to make people call me Dorothy…true story!!

 

Clean Template (for your copying + pasting convenience)

Apple | Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

Milk Chocolate | This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely everyone.

Black Jellybeans | Why do these exist?

Chocolate Kisses | Aww this novel had the best romance.

Gummy Spiders| Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Jumbo Lollipop | This took your forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

Cotton Candy | Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do).

 

Favourites Friday | Female Characters!

Guess what everyone?!? It’s Friday, which means…Favourites Friday!

So, I don’t know if it’s my inner feminist, but I absolutely LOVE strong female characters. Unfortunately, since cavemen days, women have been seen as inferior to men. We have been called the weaker sex, the fairer sex. In movies and books, the man always swoops in to save the princess – because she definitely can’t save herself, she’s too fragile.

Remember Buttercup from the Princess Bride? I remember Westley is getting his ass handed to him by a pig or something like that, and she just stands there screaming! I’m not sure but I think the Princess Bride was satire or something along those lines, so I think Buttercup was supposed to be a damsel in distress…but even so, you get my point.

I feel like females are being represented a lot more favourably in stories these days, meaning that we are going to have new generations of girls looking up to these characters which I think is so awesome.

Here is my list of my favourite strong female characters, in no particular order because I think they are all awesome!

Katniss Everdeen – The Hunger Games Series

I don’t think Katniss is one of the nicest of people, however the fact that she has flaws is what I like about her. She isn’t Miss Universe, with a Vaseline smile and wave, sprouting “world peace” rubbish. She is angry, bitter and has the weight of thousands of lives on her shoulder. She was always a strong person, with her family relying on her for food etc. All I know is if I was in this situation, I’d probably starve because I’d feel soooooo bad bad about killing animals. I would be bawling…and that’s the truth of it.

Image result for katniss everdeen gif

Aelin Galythinius – Throne of Glass Series

I have spoken about Aelin soooo many times, because I LOVE her. She is amazing. She is so unbelievably loyal to her friends, family and kingdom and would literally do anything for them. She hasn’t had a splendid life but she takes it all in her stride and cuts down anything (or anyone) she doesn’t like. Aelin has swagger, she is full of herself and doesn’t apologise for who she is. I.LOVE.HER!!!

Image result for aelin gif

Claire Fraser – Outlander

Thrown into an impossible and unbelievable situation, Claire thinks everything through rationally (well most of the time) and logically. She is very knowledgeable of medicines and herbs, and also knows a lot about treating injuries due to her time as a nurse in the War. Claire does some silly things and I have wanted to slap her a few times, but she still is an incredibly strong, independent woman.

Image result for Claire fraser gif

Kady Grant – Illuminae

A new contender on my list. I read Illuminae a week or so ago, and was introduced to Kady. She is definitely a different type of hero. She is very smart, can work computers like a wizard and is super gutsy. She was under an enormous amount of pressure and she was as cool as a cucumber…she’s pretty awesome.

Image result for nerdy computer girl gif

Nynaeve al’Meara – Wheel of Time Series

Early on in the series I found her a bit annoying, mostly because she is the most stubborn, crankiest female character I have come across. However, I freakin love her! She sticks to what she thinks is right and tells people how it is. She is also pretty powerful and has fought some pretty powerful beings. Nynaeve is super feisty but is also incredibly loyal, and this is why she has made my list.

Image result for cranky girl gif

Laia – An Ember in the Ashes Series

I fell in love with Laia in An Ember in the Ashes. You start off thinking of her as a coward, and I guess you could say that she is but not really through any fault of her own. She owns her mistakes and learns from them. She is like a fox, super quiet and timid, however she could steal the eggs out of your chicken coop without you noticing. I love that she isn’t this boisterous, over the top “look at me”, full of swagger girl. Again, she is someone who is super loyal and knows where she comes from. She is definitely someone you would want to be friends with, because if you got kidnapped by an evil prince, she would do everything in her power to get you back.

Image result for sneaky girl gif

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So there you have it, my favourite strong female characters. Are any of these on your list? What your favourite female characters? Let me know in the comments section below🙂

 

about this and I would have to say Shana (Shakugan no Shana). I fell in love with this character a few years ago, because she is simply freaking awesome. She is a flame haze, and when using her powers, her long jet black hair and dark eyes, turn flaming red. She is able to wield flames, can fly with wings made of flame, can manipulate the Power of Existence…just to name a few. Her character is quite complicated to explain, but pretty much, she kicks ass. That is why, I would want to be her – protecting the balance of the world with awesome magnificent flames.

Image result for shana

2. What is your most recent favorite book/series/author?

Definitely An Ember in the Ashes, and A Torch Against the Night. These books are AMAZING!! Like, Sabaa Tahir is a brilliant writer, and the characters….they are just ahhh-mazing!!! If you haven’t read these books yet, you need to read them. Now.

Image result for an ember in the ashes

 

3. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

I would want to be a shapeshifter like Mystique. It would be soooo awesome to just change into anyone or anything. Apart from that, I would probably want to be a fire-breathing bitch-queen like Aelin🙂

Image result for mystique

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I Nominate:

Ok so here’s where things get complicated (in my head). I don’t know who has been nominated and who does/doesn’t take part in these nominations…I have never done it before. So whether you have been nominated already, or don’t wish to partake, let this just be an “I appreciate the hell out of you” post.

Michelle @ Book Adventures

Ca

 

 

Ranty rant

Hello lovely people. I hope you are all well.

I have some feelings that I want to discuss, about certain things going on in the reading universe. I think this will be the only time I talk about this, because it feels rather negative.

There have been books published that obviously have questionable topics. Look at, for instance, The Continent, by Keira Drake. Why in 2016 anyone would use the term “savages” is beyond me. I disagree with the term and context it’s used in. HOWEVER, if you want to go and read this book despite reviews, go ahead and do it. It DOES NOT mean you are a racist person.

The purpose of reading is to learn and broaden our minds. This means reading controversial books, diverse books, gay, straight, bi, fantasy, erotica…the list goes on.

If the person sitting across from you on the train is reading a book about an inappropriate relationship between a child and adult, that doesn’t make them a pedophile. Just like people who read 50 shades aren’t all into S& M.

When you come across problematic wording, discuss the issues in a civilised manner. You don’t need to go calling out and attacking the author, or calling for boycotts of the book. Discuss the issues, obtain the authors point of view, educate where necessary and move on. Telling readers to boycott a book, if anything, makes them more prone to go and buy the book. And if they do go and read the book you disagree with, don’t make them feel like a terrible person for it.

Remember when Twilight came out and everyone read it, despite knowing that it was a problematic relationship and not very well written? I read these books twice, and learned that there were better books out there, and that stalker relationships are unhealthy 🙊

Any book can be deemed harmful to a reader. That’s the risk we all take when jumping into another world. Being female, I’ve had things done to me against my will, been leered at, grabbed and groped. Therefore, reading books about sexual abuse can be triggering. I don’t feel the need however to get angry at people for reading a book that affected me on a personal level.

 

It’s December, meaning Christmas! And whilst this is soooo exciting, if you are a book-loving introvert like me, you are probably also freaking out thinking “OMG when am I going to get reading time?”. Well you know what friends, it’s all going to be A-OK because I have done up a list of how you are going to get in your reading time…and possibly avoid people when you are bit overwhelmed from all the face-to-face interactions going on.

Image result for christmas vacation quotes

1. Public Transport

This is an easy one guys. This is the BEST way to get in some reading time. It doesn’t matter if it is only a 5min ride, make sure you have your book or reading device with you. 5mins could equal 5 important pages in your book!!

shades

2. In the car

Not while you’re driving…though I’m sure people have tried this. If you are a passenger and you are with company who don’t mind you either sleeping or reading, then take advantage of the opportunity! As long as you don’t mind reading while the other occupants are singing to Brittney really loudly and badly, you’ll do fine kid!

Image result for i'm ignoring you gif

3. Pretend you are going for a shower

This one is fine, as long as you don’t get caught…otherwise you could get into a bit of trouble. Say you are going for a shower, but then you can just sit in the bathroom and read for a little while. If someone knocks on the door, say you’re busy. If there isn’t a lock on the bathroom door, sit in front of it so someone can’t just barge in.

Image result for hiding gif

4. The toilet

This one is obviously up to you and whether you are super worried about toilet germs. I’ve been to houses where there is just a novel sitting on the ground…a toilet novel! Anyways, this is an option if you really just aren’t getting any reading time in. And you could probably sit in there for a good hour…people are going to be too embarrassed to ask why you are taking so long!

Image result for hiding gif

5. Audiobook

Of course! If you are driving somewhere, or walking somewhere, don’t listen to music…audiobook it up! I’m not a massive audiobook fan, however if I was desperate this is definitely something that I would do.

Image result for driving gif

6. I think I have a cold….

Ok so this one is super anti-social, but if you are starting to get super overwhelmed around all the festivities and you think you just need some time to yourself…this might be a good one. That way you can chill, read a book and re-charge.

Image result for sickie gif

Ok so there are 6 different options for you. In no way am I condoning being anti-social over Christmas, you need to make sure you are at least getting out of the house and getting a little bit involved – for your own mental health if anything! But I am someone who gets super overwhelmed after being around people for a long time, and I need time to recharge….that’s where these options come in.

Do you have any other ideas to add to this list? Let me know, down below🙂

Steff xx

Standalone Sunday | Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

standalone-sunday

Another weekend comes to a close which is always sad, but on the happy side it means Standalone Sunday…w00t! Hosted by Megan @ bookslayerReads , we get to highlight the standalone books out there. By the way, make sure you check out Megan’s blog – it’s pretty and bright with lots of awesome posts🙂

Today, I am talking about:

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hot. Cold. Deadly.

Britt Pfeiffer has never been very adventurous, but that’s about to change. Wanting to impress her ex-boyfriend, Britt convinces her best friend, Korbie, to take a hiking trip with her. But when a freak storm leaves the girls stranded, they seek shelter in a secluded cabin – where they find two handsome rescuers. Or so they think.

Britt realises she and Korbie need to get off the mountain fast, and so begins a treacherous journey through the ice and snow. But is gorgeous, mysterious Mason an enemy – or an ally?

Tension mount, and it’s only a matter of time before things turn deadly…

I read this book after reading the Hush, Hush series. Whilst Hush, Hush definitely had some issues, I really liked Becca’s writing. This book did not disappoint.

When I first started reading Black Ice, the main character Britt disappointed me a bit because she was blonde, preppy and spoilt, none of which I can relate to. However you soon find out that while she has lead a rather privileged life, she can actually stand on her own two feet. Britt manages to think logically even when on the brink of death, which is definitely admirable. If a bear tried to attack me, I honest think I would a) pee my pants, b) scream and c) run away, arms flailing.

If you have read the Hush, Hush series, I dare you to not see Mason as Patch…I tried and it was really hard. He had all the same features, only difference is that when things were happening Mason didn’t disappear like our dear Patch (sorry guys, Patch probably did have some really important stuff to do, but I still find it funny that he managed to disappear at the really important moments when he was actually needed…anyways, I digress). The fact that you have NO idea if Mason is good or bad, keeps you turning the pages just in itself. There definitely is that bad guy thing happening, and to be honest you would love him either way.

I highly recommend this book to anyone really, as it has all those things you love about a story – mystery, intrigue, romance and Macgyver like skills put to use. I have re-read this story quite a few times because I freakin’ love it!

Have you read Black Ice? If you have what did you think of it? If not, are you going to add this one to your ever-growing TBR list? Let me know🙂

Steff xx

Leave a Reply

